Unexpected experience

Reviewed 21 December 2009

5 stars

This box is a pearl located on the beach opposite of Patong… at the beginning we tried white box for having a drink with the sun set on the roof top… then charmed by the menu we decide to seat at the restaurant’s balcony and seeing if the food is good as described… good try: presentation, taste, fresh ingredient, great choice of wine, good service… all the ingredient for enjoy culinary experience.
price is reasonable and I appreciate that the price indicated in menu is all included VAT and service.

 
Reviewed 18 December 2009
5 stars

We were told by a friend who had dined there that we would “love it there” and we did. It was lovely to find such a tasty restaurant away from the “tatty” side of Patong.
First we had a G&T on the roof cocktail bar overlooking the Patong Bay, a really exceptional view. The food was super, a choice between Thai of course, and a Mediterranean selection. They have a European management team and chef who obviously know how to select their produce and cook it, the bread was even home backed. The Tuna Tartar was a great starter so was the pan fried Foie Gras. My son had a Thai main course which looked and tasted great and the Australian Rib eye was excellent too. The service, attentive and at the right pace made it that little bit more enjoyable. TRY the chocolate fondant…just try it! We went back up after the meal to the roof bar and enjoyed another couple of drinks, listening to some fun music and loved people watching! All in a classy though relaxed atmosphere, loved it!


Reviewed 13 November 2009
5 stars

We had an excellent night in the White Box. Food was probably best we had in Thailand so far (and we had several occassions where we paid much more!), with a great balance of local cuisine with highlights from traditional French. Location is great, with beautiful sea views and sound of waves. Coctails were great and special, the 4 course menu (2 starters, 1 main, 1 desert) for about 50 USD was a GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY and allowed us to try a lot of different things from the menu. It was a very special night!! The afterdinner lounge on the Roof Top is a recommenation for a nice whisky or afterdinner drink as well…

There was only one minus: strange small (white) bugs all over our tables and wall outside…


Reviewed 2 November 2009
4 stars

nice place good food.
There are so many nice places on the island and this one is just not delivering what they charge.
So many other great locations with better views, from real high end to local Thai ones.
Its all in white… if you like it for a beach restaurant I find it too bright


5 of 5 starsReviewed 13 August 2009
5 stars

If you want to eat in an amazing seavieuw restaurant with first class service and honest price for the food you go to the white box. Nice and cosy atmosphere with relaxing music everything you need to have a perfect dinner. After dinner can stay for chill out on the amazing terrace. The place to be in Phuket. Pascal Hersleven


5 of 5 starsReviewed 30 June 2009
4 stars

We recently had our wedding dinner at the White Box in Patong. They even picked us all up from our hotel. The food and service was second to none. All up including Mains, desserts and plenty of cocktails we only paid around $450 AUD which is just great value for this level of service and cuisine. One of our guests…

 
Reviewed 3 May 2009
4 stars

What can i said about the white box? I discover it last year just a few month after the opening, i go to phuket from 7 years now and i run a restaurant there before, this is not an easy thing to do, so i would like to congratulate the team for the all the very nice evenings i spend there, very friendly staff , always there to give you the best even if we foreigner never have to forget that if they make some mistake in the service the thai people are always focus to make we happy! About the food, as myself a chef i can tell you that i always have the best quality of products in my plate, never be disapointed about the preparations!! Really if you go to phuket it’s the place that everyone don’t have to miss!! Enjoy your hollidays in phuket!


Reviewed 13 February 2009
5 stars

Patong is known for its craziness, mind blowing ambiance and freak shows, however one restaurant/bar concept that Patong doesn’t have is the classy chill out lounge bars and White Box provides that. Located about 5 minutes to the north from BangLa Street, White B. is the ultimate destination for the stylish jet setters; whether it’s for a sunset drink or a sumptuous Mediterranean dinner, white box has its all, charming ambiance, friendly employees, mind-blowing music and breathtaking panorama.

Be sure to visit white box on your next visit to Phuket, you will imply fall in love with it! – Highly recommended


Reviewed 18 December 2008
5 stars

Superbe restaurant au bord de la plage, un cadre moderne, service et cuisine absolument parfaits.Un endroit a ne pas manquer si vous etes de passage a phuket!


Reviewed 6 November 2008
4 stars

My husband and I visited this restaurant based on reviews on this website. While the food was excellent it was very overpriced. We spent over $300 AUD on 2 course and 1 bottle of wine. The Restaurant itself is white hence the name, but I mean white, everything, is white. I found it a bit too “try hard” myself. The lights are dim so we had trouble reading the menu, the wait staff carried around torches so you could see. We had a table overlooking the sea. The wait staff were very attentive. The restaurant organised to pick us up and drop us home to our hotel in the Laguna beach area (about 20 mins away). When we were ready to leave and after spending an absolute fortune, their driver was nowhere to be found and they weren’t sure when he would be back. We could wait in the bar and spend more money and see if he returned. We elected to catch a cab (at our expense) back home. The whole experience left a bad taste in our mouths. The food was great but I have eaten just as good food at Tatonka restaurant at a quarter of the price. I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant, unless you have money to burn.


Reviewed 26 August 2008
4 stars

The white box is a new and upmarket restaurant located just outside Patong Beach. The food is a mixture of Thai and Mediterranean. They also have a great rooftop open air bar with top DJ’s at the weekends.
Well worth a visit when you are in Phuket.
Away from the crowds.


Reviewed 23 July 2008
5 stars

I knew about the White Box from a few reviews on this web page, and it lived up to all expectations. From the complementary pick-up service (in a white 4wd) to the arrival etc. Everything is decorated in white and it has stunning views of Patong Bay. It has apparently only been opened for 9 months and it won’t remain a secret for long! It is not cheap (by Phuket standards) but by Australian dining/eating out costs it is normal. A family of 4 ate out for A$150 (no wine as we were there on a Fri night when it was some kind of religious holiday/lent/or whatever). Most expensive part of the night was the Evian water at A$7 a bottle (we had four!).
We sat outside and it was a fantastic balmy night (when isn’t it?!), they had a 3 piece band playing (not loud and obtrusive either!) and the food was good. Service excellent.
For a special night out, I’d highly recommend The White Box.
Enjoy!